Wild Garlic Galore

We knew it was coming and now it’s here… wild garlic time. It’s all flowering and smelling like garlic, well, I suppose it would be a bit odd if it smelt of roses. So, tonight we walked up to the wood where there’s lots of it.

IMG_0891

So of course I had to sit in it.

IMG_0889

I don’t mind, I’m used to it. And I get treats for posing nicely.

IMG_0899

And I’m not in all the photos, just almost all of them. But not this one.

IMG_0898

Or this one.

IMG_0897

Or this one. That’s the path we walk along – soon we won’t be able to walk this way because it will be overgrown with nettles like it is on the other side of the wood.

IMG_0895

It’s quite tall garlic.

IMG_0892

And I’m quite small.

IMG_0904

And there’s lots of it.

IMG_0902

And only one of me.

IMG_0900

Almost out of the wood now… and back to the clearing in the middle.

IMG_0905

Which leads us out to this field we have to walk across.

IMG_0908

And then out onto the lane to Cockroad Farm. We’ve never met any cars on here so I don’t have to go on the lead.

IMG_0909

It’s a lovely old building with what looks like a very nice walled garden… that we can’t see into.

IMG_0912

But you can see the perfectly trimmed yew hedges and the pollarded apple trees.

IMG_0914

We walk through their gate which is where the bridleway goes, to Half Moon and Manswood. We’re not sure where Half Moon is, it’s not on the OS map.

IMG_0916

Here I am in their driveway, about to walk down that path into the woods.

IMG_0917

It’s a nice track and all downhill to the village.

IMG_0919

It comes out along this path where there are always some pheasants to chase – here I am running back after following a trail back into the woods.

IMG_0920

And the black splodge in the corner of the field is me just before I ran into the crop and had to do some proper ‘springing’ like a springer spaniel, so I could see where I was going!

IMG_0923

Almost back now, we’re at the Old School.

IMG_0951

And then on the final path back to the car. It’s been another great flower walk on a lovely sunny evening. 16 degrees with a chilly breeze from the north.

IMG_0952

One thought on “Wild Garlic Galore

Leave a Reply

