Hintza’s Holiday

My friend Hintza has come to stay with us again, just for two nights this time, so I’m going to take him on a couple of my walks while he’s here. He was hoping to have a catch up with Bilbo, Freddie and William but they’ve been despatched to the kennels as their humans have got some functions to attend. How mean can humans be. Their lives should revolve around us pups.

Anyway, Hintza arrived after lunchtime and we spent the afternoon relaxing before we had our tea and then went out for a walk at Manswood. Here we are walking down the track until we got let off our leads – before we got out of the car a big fat pheasant walked right by and mum didn’t want us rushing across the road to chase it… she has no sense of adventure.

IMG_1541

Hintza trotted on ahead as if he knew which way we were going to go.

IMG_1544

He spends all his time sniffing… must be a boy thing, or maybe the sniffs here are better than the ones over in the New Forest. If he’s not sniffing then he’s weeing.

IMG_1546

Mind you, I have to confess that he did manage to find some pretty splendid smells that even I couldn’t resist.

IMG_1549

I showed him the feather log but today there were no feathers and only a couple of the woven bracelets were left.

IMG_1555

We were only doing a short walk so we took the path up towards the old tumbled down cottage.

IMG_1559

And then we took a shortcut along the the bridle way.

IMG_1562

Hintza is very good at his recall. Every time mum called him or whistled, he stopped and ran back straight away, without even finishing his sniffing or looking. I usually stop and give her a ‘do I have to?’ kind of look before I run back, especially if I know there are no yummy treats in her pocket.

IMG_1560

Towards the end of the walk he’d got me having a sniff at everything too. He was a bit interested in this slug that didn’t appreciate having a cold wet nose sniffing it.

IMG_1566

We’ll be doing longer walks tomorrow but for now this walk was over and it was time to get back in the car.

IMG_1568

He has the back seat which has been covered with a big cover so that he doesn’t make a mess of the seats… his little golden hairs get everywhere! So do mine, but because they’re black they don’t show up. BOL if I’d been a golden spaniel mum would have got a car with tan coloured upholstery!

IMG_1570

What a poser…

IMG_1572

Home again and Pickle has got a hungry tummy so she’s being brave and walking right past Hintza. He’s being a good boy and ignoring her.

IMG_1579

Tripe time! I don’t mind sharing my tripe, as long as we both get some.

IMG_1586

Bed time now – if the weather’s nice tomorrow we’ll be doing some nice walks and I might persuade mum to do another blog… whoa, that would be two days in a row…

2 thoughts on “Hintza’s Holiday

    • BOL I can like anything, even my own posts and also comments! Hintza is kind of a normal size labrador, but very ‘fit’… some people even ask what breed he is, coz a lot of folk think all labradors are chunky 🙂 My other pal, Bilbo, is pretty huge… and also fit!

      Like

Leave a Reply

